University of Minnesota
Department of History

Department of History's home page.

Steven Ruggles

MN Population Center 50 Willey Hall 225 19th Ave S


  • U. S. census research
  • U. S. social history
  • historical demography
  • history of the family

Educational Background

  • Ph.D.: University of Pennsylvania, 1984.

Research Activities

  • see


  • Scholar of the College, College of Liberal Arts, University of Minnesota, 2005
  • Robert J. Lapham Award, Population Association of America, for contributions to the application of demographic knowledge to policy issues, 2003
  • Distinguished McKnight University Professor, 2000
  • William J. Goode Distinguished Book Award, American Sociological Association, 1989
  • Named “King of Quant.“ Wired Magazine, 1995
  • American Historical Review best article on American history published in 1994 (nominee for ABC-CLIO America: History and Life Award), 1994
  • Allen Sharlin Memorial Award, Social Science History Association, for best publication in the field of social science history, 1988
  • McKnight-Land Grant Professorship, McKnight Foundation and University of Minnesota, 1987
  • Warren E. Miller Award, Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research, 2009
  • Platinum Medallion, Delta Airlines, 2009
  • Regents' Professorship, University of Minnesota, 2008

Courses Taught

  • Hist 5011 - Quantitative Methods for Historical Research
  • Hist 5854 - Themes in American Social History: Demographic Perspectives on the American Family
  • Hist 1301 - History of the American Empire 1607-1877
  • Hist 3979 - History of Population
Alternative Output Formats Alternative Output Formats

Featured Faculty

  • Prof. Ruggles Chosen to Lead Population Association of America (PAA)

    Prof. Steve Ruggles has been chosen president-elect of the Population Association of America (PAA) He will be the first historian ever to lead that organization (more typically its presidents have been sociologists or economists). Steve will serve as PAA president-elect in 2014 and president in 2015.

    This honor is recognition of the great work that Steve has done both in his own research and in supporting the work of other scholars through his work with the Minnesota Population Center. Congratulations, Prof. Ruggles!

    Learn more about the Population Association of America (PAA)

    March 15th, 2014
  • Digital Research Projects by HIST 3959 Students

    In Fall 2013, HIST 3959 - How to Do History was taught by Prof. Donna Gabaccia with a focus on digital history research projects. One additional feature of HIST 3959 this fall was that six graduate students earned graduate credit by working with the undergraduate groups as "project managers."

    Here is a sample of innovative projects from class:

    The Pacific Railroad Surveyors
    Jewish Life in 1930s/40s Minneapolis
    Why Public Education?
    Rustication in the Chinese Cultural Revolution
    Early Scandinavian Cartography
    Korea, Forgotten War?
    Political Leadership and Masculinity

    December 13th, 2013
  • Major Awards for History Profs. Kevin Murphy, Barbara Welke, Donna Gabaccia (2), Kay Reyerson, Elaine Tyler May

    It has been a season for great honors and accomplishments for our faculty. Congratulations to all!

    Donna Gabaccia is one of the recipients of the 2013 University Outstanding Community Service Award
    Donna Gabaccia has been awarded the Theodore Saloutos Memorial Book Award of the Immigration and Ethnic History Society for Foreign Relations: American Immigration in Global Perspective.
    Elaine Tyler May has been awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship for 2013 by The John Simon Guggenheim Foundation.
    Kevin Murphy is a 2013 recipient of the UofM's Award for Outstanding Contributions to Postbaccalaureate, Graduate, and Professional Education.
    Kay Reyerson has been awarded the Robert L. Kindrick-CARA Award for Outstanding Service to Medieval Studies by the Medieval Academy.
    Barbara Welke has been named one of the new Distinguished McKnight University Professors.

    April 3rd, 2013

View All