University of Minnesota
Department of History

Department of History's home page.

Bernard S Bachrach

Department of History 1114 HellerH 271 19th Ave S

Department Affiliations


  • early Angevin history
  • Fulk Nerra
  • Medieval Europe before 1200
  • medieval military
  • Renaissance


  • State-Building in Medieval France: Studies in Early Angevin History. Bachrach, Bernard, London: Variorum, 1995.
  • Pirenne and Charlemagne. Bachrach, Bernard, Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1998.
  • Fulk Nerra-the Neo Roman Consul: A Political Biography of the Angevin Count (987-1040). Bachrach, Bernard, Berkeley: University of California Press, 1993.

Professional Activities

  • Editor and co-founding editor of Medieval Prosopography
  • Founding editor of Res Mitiraris


  • CEE Distinguished Teaching Award by the University of Minnesota, 1993
  • College of Liberal Arts Scholars of the College, University of Minnesota, 2000
  • McKnight Research Award

Courses Taught

  • Hist 1905 - Freshman Seminar
  • Hist 5900 - Topics in European/Medieval History
Alternative Output Formats Alternative Output Formats

Featured Faculty

  • Isaacmans Receive Top Honors for "Dams, Displacement, and the Delusion of Development"

    Congratulations to Professor Allen and Barbara Isaacman! Their book "Dams, Displacement, and the Delusion of Development: Cahora Bassa and Its Legacies in Mozambique, 1965-2007" has recently been honored with two major book awards: ASA's Melville Herskovits Award, and AHA's Martin A. Klein Prize.

    December 5th, 2014
  • American Indian History Lifetime Achievement Award to Jean O'Brien

    Professor Jeani O'Brien (history and American Indian studies) has been awarded the American Indian History Lifetime Achievement Award for 2014 by the Western History Association.

    December 4th, 2014
  • Jean O'Brien, 2014 Sara Evans Faculty Woman Scholar/Leader Award

    Jean O'Brien has been awarded this year's Sara Evans Faculty Woman Scholar/Leader Award. Jean O'Brien joins Erika Lee (2012) as the second historian to receive Sara Evans Faculty Woman Scholar/Leader Award. Congratulations, Jeani!

    August 31st, 2014

View All